World Ice Hockey Championships: France And Austria Replace Russia And Belarus

France and Austria will replace Russia and Belarus at the men’s world ice hockey championships.© Twitter

France and Austria will replace Russia and Belarus at the world ice hockey championships in May, the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) announced. The IIHF suspended Russian and Belarusian forces on 28 February in response to the Ukrainian invasion. It announced the replacement team after the council meeting on Friday. Ice hockey, along with judo, is one of the favorite sports Russian president Vladimir Putin is seen playing. Including victories as the Soviet Union, Russia tied with Canada for most world titles on the 27th.

France will take Russia’s place at the tournament in Finland from May 15-29. Austria will replace Belarus.

France will join Group A in Helsinki and face defending champions Canada, Germany, Switzerland, Slovakia, Denmark, Kazakhstan and Italy.

Austria will be in group B in Tampere and face Olympic champions Finland, the United States, the Czech Republic, Sweden, Latvia, Norway and Great Britain in group B in Tampere.

Topics covered in this article


Welcome to India's Largest news platform, I assure you that we daily update on Global news which helps you to grow your knowledge.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button