Watch: Olympic Champion Neeraj Chopra Receives Padma Shri

Neeraj Chopra received the Padma Shri award from Indian President Ram Nath Kovind

Tokyo Olympic champion Neeraj Chopra on Monday received the prestigious Padma Shri award in sports. Chopra who was the first Indian race and field gold medalist in the Olympics made his debut at the Tokyo Games at the age of 23. The star javelinman won the gold medal with a throw of 87.58 meters in his second attempt. He received the prestigious Padma Shri award from President Ram Nath Kovind at Rashtrapati Bhavan in a ceremony today.

The Padma Award is given in three categories – Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. The award is given in various disciplines and fields such as arts, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, commerce and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, public service, etc. ‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for outstanding and various services; ‘Padma Bhushan’ for high distinguished service and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field. The awards are announced in conjunction with Republic Day each year.

The award is given by the President of India at ceremonial ceremonies held at Rashtrapati Bhavan usually around March/April every year.

This year the President has approved the awarding of 128 Padma Awards including 2 duo cases (in the case of duo, the Awards are counted as one). The list consists of 4 Padma Vibhushan, 17 Padma Bhushan and 107 Padma Shri Awards. 34 of the award recipients are women and the list also includes 10 people from the Foreigner/NRI/PIO/OCI category and 13 Posthumous award recipients.

Topics covered in this article


Welcome to India's Largest news platform, I assure you that we daily update on Global news which helps you to grow your knowledge.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button