Top Stories

Uttarakhand BJP Chief Minister Possible Today, Goa Still In Suspension

The BJP is likely to announce its Chief Minister’s choice for Uttarakhand today

New Delhi:

The BJP is likely to announce the election of its Chief Minister for Uttarakhand today after a meeting of newly elected parliamentarians in the capital Dehradun. The MLA will be sworn in at 11 a.m. The party’s central observers for the hill state, Union Ministers Rajnath Singh and Meenakshi Lekhi, will oversee the announcement of the Chief Minister’s name.

Yesterday, Home Minister Amit Shah met with acting Uttarakhand Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami and senior BJP leaders, including party leader JP Nadda, in Delhi to discuss the formation of a government in the state.

The BJP won 47 seats in the 70-member Uttarakhand rally, consolidating its second consecutive term in the state. However, Mr Dhami lost the election from the Khatima constituency.

Challengers for the top post in Uttarakhand are Mr Dhami, Uttarakhand BJP secretary -general Suresh Bhatt, party MP Anil Baluni; MLA Dhan Singh Rawat, Satpal Maharaj and Ritu Khanduri, and party MP Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank.

There is also tension over the top post in Goa where a race is underway between Pramod Sawant and Vishwajit Rane. Earlier this week, sources said Mr Sawant was likely to get a second term in the top post. The decision may be made today before the BJP meets the Governor to stake claims to form a government.

In Uttar Pradesh, Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath will be sworn in for his second term on Friday, the BJP said early last week. But there has not been any information on the size of his cabinet or the finalized names for the various ministries.


Welcome to India's Largest news platform, I assure you that we daily update on Global news which helps you to grow your knowledge.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button