The Baltic Nations have expelled 10 Russian diplomats

Russia War in Ukraine: Lithuania said its expulsions were conducted in “solidarity with Ukraine”.


Latvia, Estonia and Lithuania have expelled a total of ten Russian diplomats, the foreign ministries of the three Baltic countries said on Friday.

Lithuania expelled four diplomats and Latvia and Estonia expelled three.

They were expelled in a coordinated move by diplomats “in connection with their activities against their diplomatic status and in view of the ongoing Russian attack on Ukraine,” Latvian Foreign Minister Edgars Rinkevics tweeted.

The Estonian Foreign Ministry said it had expelled diplomats for “directly and actively undermining Estonia’s security and spreading propaganda justifying Russia’s military action,” its foreign ministry said in a statement.

Lithuania said its expulsions were conducted in “solidarity with Ukraine”.

The Russian Foreign Ministry was not immediately available for comment when it contacted Reuters.

(Except for the title, this story has not been edited by NDTV staff and has been published from a union feed.)


Welcome to India's Largest news platform, I assure you that we daily update on Global news which helps you to grow your knowledge.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button