Jammu And Kashmir To Host G-20 Summit Next Year -By ASC

A 5-member high-level panel for coordination was set up ahead of the G-20 Summit in Jammu Kashmir. (File)


In a major development, Jammu and Kashmir will host the 2023 meeting of the G-20, an influential group that unites the world’s major economies, with the Union Territory government on Thursday setting up a five-member high-level committee for overall coordination.

This will be the first major international summit held in Jammu and Kashmir after the state’s special status previously guaranteed under Article 370 of the Constitution was revoked and it was divided into two union territories in August 2019.

In September last year, Union Trade and Industry Minister Piyush Goyal was appointed Sherpa of India for the G20. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs has said that India will hold the G20 presidency from December 1, 2022, and will hold a summit of G20 leaders in 2023 for the first time.

According to an official order issued here on Thursday, the chief secretary of the housing and urban development department of the Union Territory will chair the committee formed in response to a June 4 communication from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

“Restrictions are hereby placed on the committee’s constitution … for the overall coordination of the G-20 meeting to be held in the J&K Union Territory,” an order issued by Secretary-General, General Administration Department Manoj Kumar Dwivedi said. The committee members include the Secretary to the Commissioner (Transportation), the Secretary of Administration (Tourism), the Secretary of Administration (Hospitality and Protocol) and the Secretary of Administration (Culture).

“Subsequently, the chief secretary to the government, housing and urban development departments was also nominated as the UT-level nodal officer to coordinate the arrangement of the G-20 meeting in the J&K Union Territory,” the order said.

Prime Minister Modi has led the Indian delegation at the G20 summit since 2014. India has been a member of the G20 since its inception in 1999.

According to the MEA, India will be part of the G20 Troika (previous, current and future G20 Presidents) from 1 December 2021 to 30 November 2024.

The G20 brings together 19 of the world’s leading economies and the European Union, with its members accounting for more than 80 percent of global GDP, 75 percent of global trade and 60 percent of the global population, according to the MEA.

e G20 member countries are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Germany, France, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is published from a syndicated feed.)


Welcome to India's Largest news platform, I assure you that we daily update on Global news which helps you to grow your knowledge.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button