‘Humbled’ Stenson has been named captain of the 2023 European Ryder Cup

Henrik Stenson says he will do “everything in his power” to regain the U.S. Ryder Cup on Tuesday after being named captain of the 2023 European team by golf leaders on Tuesday. The first Swede to be named European captain holds an impressive Ryder Cup record and has helped Europe win the United States in three of its five appearances as a player. The 2020 vice-captain wants to reclaim the Ryder Cup after the U.S. won the Whistling Straits in Wisconsin last September.

“It’s a great honor and I was delighted to receive a call confirming the news,” Stenson, 45, said in a statement released by Ryder Cup Europe.

A five-member jury selected the three most recent European skippers, including Padraig Harrington, Thomas Bjorn and Darren Clarke.

“I would like to thank the selection board for believing in me and I will tell them, and all European golf fans, that I will do everything in my power and not leave a stone unturned in my efforts to return the Ryder Cup to Europe,” Stenson said.

The 2016 British Open champion added: “When I started out as a professional golfer, it was beyond my wildest dreams to one day follow in the footsteps of game legends like Seve (Crossbowmen) and become a European Ryder. Cup captain.

“But today proves that sometimes dreams come true.”

Stenson has “all the qualities to be a great captain,” suggested European Ryder Cup director Guy Kinnings, highlighting Stenson’s record at the Ryder Cup and Sweden’s first major male winner and two-time European number one.

“So it comes with all the credibility of what’s been achieved, and we all know that it’s a wonderful sense of humor and a wonderful warm personality, but it’s also a tough competitor,” Kinnings added.

“They are very respectful of the players and admire everyone involved in the game and the Ryder Cup.”

Stenson made his Ryder Cup debut at the K Club in Ireland in 2006, winning 18 1/2 – 9 1/2.

And he continued as a member of the winning teams in 2014 at Gleneagles and Le Golf National in France, as well as being part of the 2008 and 2016 European teams.

The 2023 edition of the two-year competition is being held at the Marco Simone Golf and Country Club in Rome (Italy) from September 25th to October 1st.


The U.S. team will be Zach Johnson, the 2007 Masters champion and 2015 Open winner.

(This story was not edited by NDTV staff and was automatically created from a union feed.)

Topics covered in this article

Source link


Welcome to India's Largest news platform, I assure you that we daily update on Global news which helps you to grow your knowledge.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button