De Gea Descended from the Spanish National Team, Raya Call-up

Manchester United’s David de Gea was sacked by Spanish side on Friday, and Brentford goalkeeper David Raya coach Luis Enrique added a surprise. De Gea has not played for Spain since October 2020, but was in the previous national team in November and has been in great form for United this season.

Luis Enrique may have doubts about the distribution of De Gea in his system and it was obvious that he praised this aspect of Raya’s game in a press conference on Friday.

“He’s been doing really well for a long time and I really want to see him in the context of the national team,” Luis Enrique said.

“I think he has the profile of being a good goalkeeper for the team, because of his quality, because he has the ball at his feet to manage and dominate any game situation, which is what our team goalkeeper does. Probably a surprise for a lot of people, not for us.”

Barcelona midfielder Pedri, Chelsea left-back Marcos Alonso and Atletico Madrid winger Marcos Llorente are back.

Sergio Busquets was left out, although Luis Enrique said the 33-year-old is resting due to the minutes he has played at Barca this season.

“I want Busquets to be the best in June and I have decided that he should have a few days off. He is having an impressive season,” Luis Enrique said.

Spain will play two friendlies in the next international break, against Albania on March 26 and against Iceland on March 29.

Spanish national team

Goalkeepers: Unai Simon (Athletic Bilbao), Robert Sanchez (Brighton), David Raya (Brentford).

Defenders: Marcos Alonso (Chelsea), Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Eric Garcia (Barcelona), Aymeric Laporte (Manchester City), Pau Torres (Villarreal), Diego Llorente (Leeds), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid) .

Midfielders: Rodrigo Hernandez (Manchester City), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Marcos Llorente (Atletico Madrid), Pedri (Barcelona), Gavi (Barcelona), Carlos Soler (Valencia)


Forward: Dani Olmo (Leipzig), Pablo Sarabia (Sporting Lisbon), Alvaro Morata (Juventus), Raul de Tomas (Espanyol), Ferran Torres (Barcelona), Yeremy Pino (Villarreal).

(This story was not edited by NDTV staff and was automatically created from a union feed.)

Topics covered in this article

Source link


Welcome to India's Largest news platform, I assure you that we daily update on Global news which helps you to grow your knowledge.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button