Top Stories

Congress Loses Rajya Sabha Seat In Assam To BJP, Says MLA Vote “Bazir”

Voting was held today for the two Rajya Sabha seats in Assam. (Representative)


Congress has lost the Rajya Sabha seat to the BJP in Assam, where elections for two seats in the upper house of parliament took place today. The BJP won another seat without contesting.

The vote count for the Congress -led opposition candidate declined with Congress suspending the MLA for allegedly wasting its vote by writing “One” instead of “1” on the ballot paper.

The suspension of Congressional MLA and former minister Siddique Ahmed hurt his party’s Ripun Bora prospects.

Siddique Ahmed has “deliberately failed to comply with the three -line sentence”, Congress said in a statement.

Voting was held today for the two Rajya Sabha seats in Assam. In the first seat, BJP candidate Pabitra Margherita won unopposed.

There is a contest for the second seat. Ripun Bora is the opposition candidate while the BJP supports UPPL ally candidate Rwngwra Narzary.

The All India United Democratic Front has supported Mr Bora.

To win this seat, any candidate needs 43 votes.

The BJP and its allies have 83 votes out of a total of 126 in the state assembly. That number was enough for Pabitra Margherita to be elected from one seat, but failed to get three votes for Rwngwra Narzary.

The opposition had 44 votes but the count was reduced by one with one Congressional MLA said to be “wasting” his vote. It all came to a wire, even as opposition parties claimed their votes were still intact.

Reports suggest that Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, a former Congress chief who joined the BJP in 2015, had “persuaded” some Congressional MLAs to cross -vote.

Seven Congressional MLAs voted back and assisted the ruling party candidate.


Welcome to India's Largest news platform, I assure you that we daily update on Global news which helps you to grow your knowledge.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button