8 Ministers Appointed In Sri Lanka Crisis, No Finance Minister Yet -By ASC

Sri Lanka is facing its worst economic crisis since gaining independence. (File)


Sri Lankan President Gotabaya Rajapaksa on Monday expanded the Cabinet with the appointment of eight more ministers but he did not appoint a finance minister to handle the economic affairs of the crisis -stricken country.

New ministers sworn in include Douglas Devananda, Minister of Fisheries, Bandula Gunawardana, Minister of Transport and Highways, and Mass Media, Keheliya Rambukwella, Minister of Health and Water Supply, Ramesh Pathirana, Minister of Industry, and Mahinda Amaraweera, Minister of Agriculture, Wildlife and Wildlife Conservation, Economy Next news portal tweeted.

Other ministers are Vidura Wickramanayaka, Minister of Buddhasasana, Religion and Culture, Naseer Ahamed, Minister of Environment, and Roshan Ranasinghe, Minister of Irrigation, Sports and Youth.

President Rajapaksa on Friday expanded his Cabinet to include nine more ministers in a bid to ensure stability until a full Cabinet is formed in the debt -ridden island nation which is hit by the worst economic crisis since its independence.

The ministers were sworn in after a delay of more than a week since the president appointed new Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe. Rajapaksa re -appointed former Sri Lankan prime minister Wickremesinghe five times, after his predecessor, president Mahinda Rajapaksa’s brother, resigned following violent attacks by his supporters on peaceful anti -government protesters.

His resignation automatically dissolves the Cabinet, leaving an administrative vacancy.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by AGRASMARTCITY staff and is published from a syndicated feed.)


Welcome to India's Largest news platform, I assure you that we daily update on Global news which helps you to grow your knowledge.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button